City General Archive: Relógio da Glória was opened 118 years ago

Published on 17/04/2023 - 10:06 | Updated on 17/04/2023 - 10:38
  • Home/
  • /
  • City General Archive: Relógio da Glória was opened 118 years ago
The Relógio da Glória is a cultural heritage site of the city, listed by Inepac - Archive/Portal Augusto Malta

Inaugurated 118 years ago, on April 15, 1905, the Glória Clock was installed during the administration of Mayor Pereira Passos. The monument was part of an urbanization project for the Glória neighborhood, which included public lighting and sewage sanitation.

The clock has four faces and its mechanisms were installed by the German watchmaker Frederich Krussman, while the machinery parts are French. Its column is carved in granite and is positioned on a bronze balustrade, which had been removed from Tiradentes Square.

Located on Rua da Glória, at number 290, the Relógio da Glória is a cultural heritage site listed by the State Institute of Cultural Heritage (INEPAC). The color photo shows the monument and the surrounding area today.

The black and white photos have no date. They belong to the Augusto Malta Portal, under the administration of General Archive of the City of Rio de Janeiro, and it is possible to consult the documents online, using the codes: { CP/PP/AM/PC-163 ] – [ CP/PP/AM/PC-161 ] – [ CP/PP/PAM/PC-164 ]

 

The Glória Clock was installed during the administration of Mayor Pereira Passos – Archive/Portal Augusto Malta

 

The monument has four faces – Archive/Portal Augusto Malta

 

The Relógio da Glória and the surrounding region today – General City Archive

 

  • April 17th 2023
  • Jump to main content